Council of Directors of School Psychology Programs (CDSPP) Report to CCTC November 3, 2016

Description

The Council of Directors of School Psychology Programs (CDSPP) is an organization of North American doctoral programs in school psychology. Doctoral programs in school psychology in a regionally-accredited institution of higher learning are entitled to membership; APA accreditation is not required for CDSPP membership.

CDSPP Mission

CDSPP's mission is to foster the advancement of doctoral education in school psychology in all its aspects. This mission includes both providing a mechanism for dissemination of information, exchange of views, collection of data, facilitation of communication, and formulation of policies, concerning doctoral training in school psychology; and providing consultative resources, maintaining active liaison, and promoting the representation of school psychology programs in functions of APA and other organizations which are relevant to doctoral education in school psychology.

Current Board Members

Ara Schmitt (Chair); Duquesne University
Cynthia Hazel (Chair-Elect); University of Denver
Christy Walcott (Treasurer); East Carolina University
Amanda Sullivan (Secretary); University of Minnesota
Renee Hawkins (Member); University of Cincinnati
Rebecca Martinez (Member); Indiana University
Dan Olympia (ex-officio Member); University of Utah
Carlen Henington (ex-officio Member); Mississippi State University

Update of CDSPP Activities since March 2016:

- CDSPP's Mid-Winter Meeting will be held on January 20 and 21, 2017, in Hollywood Beach, FL. Session topics will include constituent organization updates (e.g., CoA, ASPPB, APPIC, NASP, Division 16), Program APA-Accreditation Implementing Regulations, CDSPP Internship Guidelines, Student Remediation Procedures, Plenary Session, Supporting Junior Faculty Members/Mentoring Future Program Directors, Alternative Dissertation Formats, and Special Recognition of Jim Ysseldyke for his Outstanding Contributions to the Profession of School Psychology. APA site visitor training will be provided on January 19, 2017, ahead of the midwinter meeting, in order to promote the training of more school psychology site visitors.
- Renee Hawkins (University of Cincinnati) and Rebecca Martinez (Indiana University) were elected to CDSPP's Executive Committee (EC).
- CDSPP continues to support Division 16's grant program for the development and expansion of school psychology internships. CDSPP continues to make an annual monetary contribution, while Division 16 leads the grant application and selection process.
- CDSPP is in the process of reviewing its Internship Guidelines in order to align them with APA's SoAs and IRs. Proposed revisions will be discussed at the mid-winter meeting.
- CDSPP is following the development of EPPP Stage 2 and is communicating with ASPPB through the School Psychology Leadership Roundtable (SPLR).

Ara J. Schmitt, PhD Chair, CDSPP